Eric D. Stonestrom

Executive Chairman

Eric D. Stonestrom joined Airspan as Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer in January 1998. From May 1998 to January 2022 he was President and Chief Executive Officer as well as a member of the Board of Directors, in February 2022 he was named Chairman and Chief Executive Officer. From 1995 to January 1998, Mr. Stonestrom was employed by DSC Communications Corporation, a provider of telecommunications equipment and services (“DSC”), as a Vice President of operating divisions, including the Airspan product line. From 1984 until 1995, Mr. Stonestrom worked at telecommunications corporations Bell Laboratories and AT&T in a variety of positions. He received B.S., M.S. and M. Eng. degrees in 1982, 1983 and 1984, respectively, from the College of Engineering at the University of California at Berkeley.

Eric D. Stonestrom is a founding member of Airspan.

Bandel L. Carano


Bandel L. Carano joined the Board of Directors of Airspan in September 2006. Mr. Carano, who was a member of Airspan’s Board of Directors from January 1998 to February 2001, has been a general partner of Oak Investment Partners, a multi-stage venture capital firm, since 1987. Mr. Carano also serves on Centric Software, NeoPhotonics, NextNav and nLight. Mr. Carano holds a B.S. and an M.S. in Electrical Engineering from Stanford University.

Michael T. Flynn


Michael T. Flynn has served as a director of Airspan since July 2001. From 1994 to 2004, Mr. Flynn served as group president of ALLTEL Corporation, an integrated telecommunications provider of wireline and wireless telephony, Internet and high-speed data services. Prior to that, he was an officer with SBC Corp and the Bell System for 25 years. From Sept. 2005 to June of 2018, he was a member of the board of CALIX Inc. (CALX:NYSE), a manufacturer of broadband access equipment, and participated in its successful IPO in 2010. Mr. Flynn also served as a director of Atlantic Tel-Networks (ATNI:NASDAQ) from June of 2010 to June of 2019. He has previously served as a board member of several companies resulting in successful mergers or acquisitions, including: Taqua sold to Tekelec in 2004; WebEx Communications (NASDAQ:WEBX) sold to Cisco for $3.2B in 2007; Bay Packets merged with GENBAND in 2006, where Mr. Flynn continued to serve until 2009; and iLinc (AMEX:ILC) sold to Broadsoft. Mr. Flynn earned his B.S. degree in Industrial Engineering from Texas A&M University in 1970. He attended the Dartmouth Institute in 1986 and the Harvard Advanced Management Program in 1988.

Thomas S. Huseby


Thomas S. Huseby has served as a Director of Airspan since January 1998, serving as Chairman of the Board from 1998 until 2000 and for a second term as Chairman from 2010 to January 2022. Since August 1997, Mr. Huseby has served as the Managing Partner of SeaPoint Ventures, a venture capital fund focused on communications infrastructure. Mr. Huseby has served as a Venture Partner with Oak Investment Partners since 1997 and from 2007 as a strategic partner with Covera Ventures and Voyager Capital. Prior to founding SeaPoint Ventures, Mr. Huseby was the Chairman and CEO of Metawave Communications and prior to that of Innova Corporation.  Mr. Huseby has a B.A. and a B.S.I.E. from Columbia University and an M.B.A. from Stanford University.

Scot B. Jarvis


Scot B. Jarvis joined the Board of Airspan Networks Inc. in January 2011. He joined Oak in 1999 as a Venture Partner after a highly successful career in management and investment roles in the wireless communications industry. A graduate of the University of Washington, Scot founded and served as the first President of Nextlink Communications, served as a Regional President of Nextel, and served as a Senior Executive with McCaw Cellular (now AT&T Wireless). More recently, Scot was the Founder of Cedar Grove Investments, a private equity firm with a focus on wireless communications. He has served or currently serves on the boards of public and private companies, including Kratos Defense and Security Solutions, Airspan, Vitesse Semiconductor, Spectrum Effect and Slingshot Sports. Scot focuses on Oak’s investments in the wireless communications market.

Glenn Laxdal

President and Chief Executive Officer

Glenn Laxdal was appointed President and Chief Executive Officer in May 2023. He joined Airspan as President and Chief Operating Officer of the company in January of 2022, responsible for the product portfolio, global operations and services.

Mr. Laxdal comes to Airspan from Infinera where he served as senior vice president and general manager of products with responsibility for all operational aspects of Infinera’s product business. Prior to joining Infinera, Mr. Laxdal was senior vice president of Ericsson North America’s multi-billion dollar network products business overseeing strategy, product management and solution development. Mr. Laxdal also served as chief technology officer and head of strategy for Ericsson North America.

Prior to Ericsson, Mr. Laxdal served as vice president of global product management at BlackBerry and prior to that held executive roles in product management and operations at Airvana and Nortel.

Mr. Laxdal holds an MBA from the University of Toronto and a BA in Economics and Bachelor of Commerce degrees from the University of Saskatchewan.

Mathew Oommen


Mathew Oommen joined the Board of Airspan Networks Inc. in June 2014. Mr. Oommen is President, Reliance Jio Infocomm Limited. In this role, Mr. Oommen is enabling India’s transformation to broader digital services adoption. Prior to Reliance, Mr. Oommen was Chief Technology Officer of Sprint, responsible for network and technology development, systems architecture, device development, including leading the M2M/Connected Car Service development. Prior to joining Sprint in 2008, Mr. Oommen was President of technology and services for the Reliance Industries Group in India. He has also served as Chief Technology and Product Officer at Flag Telecom (a Reliance Company) and has held executive positions at Williams Communications/Wiltel Group and MCI Worldcom/Verizon.